Image is of the Contemporary Floral Lace Mini Dress from Forever 21. I love it so much.

I guess I’ve grown a little bit of courage. But I’ll get to that in a minute.

From as far back as I can remember, I’ve always found lace incredibly sexy. There’s just something about it. Lace and tights and I’m a goner. You wear that well, ladies.

But I hadn’t really thought of trying to wear it myself. Again, I’m tall and I have relatively broad shoulders. It makes some fits and cuts not work at all, but I’ve found several lace-based items that I wanted to try and took the plunge.

It was so worth it.

Three main sources for me so far: BCBGeneration (with a brilliant lace came-dress and skirt that gives this layered look; I’ve paired it with a white and blue-striped sweater from Old Navy), Rue 21, and Forever 21. Forever 21 really does have the best stuff, but their sizing is all out of whack. One thing will fit me perfectly while I can’t even get my arms through another, all allegedly the same size. Rue 21’s stuff is brilliant so far.

JCPenney also has a few items that I want to try from a.n.a, Miss Chevious, Love Reigns, Ronni Nicole, and Reign On. Oh, and they have Egyptian cotton bath towels, too, but that’s besides the point.

The verdict? I love it. SO much.

There are a number of items I still want to get, and the reason I’m okay with ordering some of them is because I’ve actually worn a couple of these items out. Okay, you’d have to be looking at the hem at the bottom of my pullover or at the edges of my sleeves to see the lace, but it’s a big step for me.

I have a couple of maxi skirts and a number of dresses, and anything that doesn’t wear like pants isn’t something I’ve had the guts to do. I’m not painting my fingernails right now as I’m still not all that comfortable here. But I’m getting better.

A bit braver, I guess.

