It’s definitely getting warmer here out in the high desert: it’s going to be in the 60s for the next week or so, perfect timing for my spring break. It’s nice because I get to express myself just a bit more by not being on campus.

As an example, I haven’t painted my fingernails since I moved here. Just too many conversations I’d have to have with people I don’t really know. That means it’s been toenails-only for me. But with more than a week off? I’ll be picking out a new colour on a pilgrimage to Ulta and dialing them up.

I’ll probably also experiment a bit more with the way I dress in public. Not too much, as I have a rather thin skin, but enough to start seeing how I can be comfortable.

It also helps that I’ll have a partner in crime for a few of these days, something that always helps the self-confidence just a little bit.

