Really quiet. Almost painfully quiet.

I’m still hard at work on my classes, getting set for my summer course to kick off on Monday and prepping fall classes. But there are just fewer people around, you know?

It’s also a time of year where it feels like there are fewer ways to express my gender middle-groundedness. I’m still not comfortable wearing nail polish here, I don’t/won’t carry a bag or purse (yet, at least), and most of my clothing has long sleeves. Granted, I wear knickers/capris all summer, but it has me feeling less like me like this. I think it’s just that I need to flush out a lot of my old tops and rework the ol’ summer wardrobe. But that takes money and I want a house so I’m trying to save as much as I can.

So it’s all just kind of quiet, I guess. There aren’t things I can show you that I want. There aren’t nearly as many public encounters (though I still get treated oddly here in a way I never was in Michigan). There isn’t quite as much for me to say at the moment.

It’ll come back, I know. But the summer might be a little light here.

Until Ulta opens. Which should be soon.

