I’m no math whiz, I readily admit. I have a weird association in my brain where number and colour are very closely related. When you add letters to the mix, they look wrong. Letters have no colour. So I struggled mightily in algebra trying to get my brain to do things that didn’t look right.

But I am enough of a math whiz to know that you can’t be 103% of something. Those are the results I got from an online test to determine gender personality.

It has been some time since I have taken a research methods course as well, probably back early in my doctorate, but I’m going to go out on a limb and say that perhaps the methodology here may not have been bulletproof, let alone the kind of odd methods employed (researcher pet peeve—method and methodology do not mean the same thing. People conflate them all the time, the same way we use the term utilize in place of use because it’s longer and seemingly more important).

However.

This was a test that was supposed to say something about the gender of your personality. Someone close to me, biologically female, took this and came out 2/3 male and 1/3 female. Alright, I’ll take a crack at this.

After answering questions about sensitivity and caring and competitiveness and the like, it spat out my results. I’m 78% feminine and 25% masculine. I guess 3% of me is both?

And as much as I poke at the methods and methodology of this thing, yeah, it seems about right. So it has that going for it.

