My plans for spring break have fallen through for this year, so right now it looks like a week to catch up on grading and get ready for the stretch run to the end of the year. Quiet, orderly, hoping for good weather.

Or, I could go to Ultra.

If you’re unfamiliar, Ultra Music Festival is the premier electronic music festival in the world. General admission tickets are all sold out. Which is fine: I’d go VIP anyhow.

This year’s lineup has the huge acts I want to see (Alesso, Axwell^Ingrosso, Carl Cox, Underworld) along with the smaller acts I’ve never gotten to take in (Sasha & Digweed, Fedde Le Grand, Aly & Fila, Sander van Doorn). Oh, and then there’s Hardwell, Tiesto, Armin van Buuren…

It would be insane to go. It’s less than a month from now, airfare and food and someplace to sleep will cost as much as the ticket itself. That would be nuts.

So why am I strongly considering going?

