I accidentally typed trains instead of trans when I did an image search. Eh, close enough.

After my poor performance last week in class, I decided to do a 180 on a classroom policy and see if it worked (spoiler: it did). I’m using more controversial topics to talk about credibility and reliable sources. Today I brought up discrimination (the graph below) and then how we can look at methods and methodology as well as the ways questions are worded.

This brought us to trans issues and bathroom bills. I went there.

A few people genuinely didn’t seem to know what bathroom bills were. Interesting that they missed that, but it can happen. Then someone got rolling on local issues regarding this, how there was a student who was starting to transition and wanted to use the boys locker room. There were comments about safety in accommodation.

chart-2Honestly, I was quite proud of them. They were reasoned about it, but you could also see the light bulb turn on when something they hadn’t considered showed up, like the fact that forcing someone to use the bathroom on their birth certificate will result in someone who looks like the opposite gender into the wrong bathroom.

There was also a lot of heteronormativity in it, but I left that alone for today. I had done enough.

We did a quick poll on how many people knew a trans person. That was because one of our sources was comparing a poll with that question from 2011 and 2016, with the latter showing a doubling to 21%. 10 hands went up, which was just shy of half of our class. We talked for a few minutes how environments like schools encourage more interaction so that shouldn’t be a surprise.

I didn’t bombshell them, but I wanted to. I wanted to point out that they all know a trans person, but today wasn’t the right day to risk official sanction.

But, after all, they do all know me…

