In a case that brings out only the best of humanity in the comments sections of news stories, Illinois is taking steps to make it easier for individuals in the state to change the gender on their birth certificates. This is a handy thing for those trans folks who do not want to have surgery. That was the prior requirement for a change to a birth certificate. The Chicago Tribune has a story on it.

I was born in Illinois, and while not a resident, this is something that could affect me, so I’m following it somewhat closely.

I also don’t know if I’ll have surgery after the children things are figured out or not, so this is the kind of issue that could affect me.

It also puts me more in line with thinking of all of the things I would have to change along the way. Beyond my name, that would include passport, driver’s license, bank info, credit cards…

Oof. Potentially being me is complicated.

