Yes I did spell that right.

I’m trying to get smaller in preparation for hormone changes down the road. I want my body to be as lean as I can get it for that, and that means more exercise and a better diet. I’m slowly working on the latter, but for the former, I’m doing a lot more walking. Really. My back hurts this morning to prove it.

On Friday, I walked to work as we finished up our phone interviews for our two open faculty positions. Survived that, then recorded a lecture on Gilles Deleuze (gripping, I’ms sure), and walked to my friends’ house to feed their kitties while they’re out of town.

I had a few minutes before I had to be at Family Skate Night—I sell junk food to children work the concession stand—so I stopped off at my favourite bar, Fiiz, on the way. Fiiz is actually a soda bar, not an alcohol one, and I rather like it there. I take that over alcoholic stuff any day of the week, anyhow.

I got there just after school had let out, so there were a lot of kids running about, getting drinks and chips-and-salsa or popcorn or pretzels or whatever. I think everyone who works there knows me by this point, so I can do smalltalk with them while I wait most of the time. This time, though, all but the manager were on a vague kind of kid-wrangling duty.

The manager was the one who made my drink, and then we talked make-up. She complimented the job I had done that day, saying that she wasn’t bold enough to do colours like that. I had on some of Urban Decay’s colourshift eyeshadows and a rather bright eyeliner, so they were noticeable. I’m so pale, though, that such brightness is not overwhelming.

The other thing about Fiiz is that it’s run by LDS people. Mormons. Again, some of the nicest people you could hope to meet, Mormons, regardless of how you feel about their religion. But I’m used to a certain level of discomfort for such a socially liberal concept like gender identity. Not with these people, though, and they’ve made me feel most welcome.

I don’t hang out in bars, and I think that’s healthy for me right now while I start this transition process. It’s nice that, even if only in one place, I’m treated well no matter what. It’s good to have a place like that.

